thing 20 – online video + audio resources

Below is the video version of my written post that I made using Camtasia Studio:

Part 1 – Video Resources

I searched on YouTube and on PBS LearningMedia for videos. Both sources are easy to search, and with PBS, especially, you know you are getting quality, relevant material. On the PBS site, I found a lesson plan with a video about where your money goes when you pay taxes, which would be a great resource for when I teach my unit on taxes and government spending.

On YouTube, I subscribe to a channel belonging to a college economics teacher. All of the videos are 3-8 minutes long and they are each about different economics concepts. They are really useful for reinforcing concepts I have taught in class, especially when students are in the blended class and aren’t in the classroom on a given day.

Part 2 – Audio Resources

I have used numerous audio news clips in my lessons from NPR to add real world relevance to the concepts I’m teaching. It’s helpful to teach a subject that is in the news so often. 🙂 However, I’ve never really explored the world of podcasts before. I searched and found the podcasts from APM Marketplace. (I love listening to this on the radio, so I figured the podcasts would be great too!) These could be super useful and add some fun, interesting information to the topics I teach. The podcasts give real world examples of economics principles that are in current news. They might be a bit long (25-26 minutes each) to hold high school students’ attention, but I could assign students to listen to one that I felt was particularly relevant and complete an assignment on it. Or, I could find the sections of the episodes that are relevant to the concepts we are covering and have them listen to just those sections. I can definitely see using these in the future and posting links to the ones that are relevant to the concepts we’re covering on my classroom website!

Strengths and Weaknesses of Video

Strengths of video are that they use both visual and audio senses to capture students’ attention and engage them in the topic, students can see real world demonstration of concepts, and it can be self-paced so students can pause and replay sections as needed.

Weaknesses of video are that it may not be good quality, searching for an appropriate video takes some time and concentrated effort, and sometimes students can get distracted by the visual details in a video if it’s not modern (for example, they may get distracted by the clothing or hairstyle of the people in the video and miss the concepts the video is trying to teach.)

Strengths and Weaknesses of Audio

Strengths of the audio resources I chose are that they are all very relevant to what is happening in the world right now. As students listen, they can write down connections to material they have learned in class and they don’t have to worry about missing something visual on a screen. Audio resources are also a little more portable. Students can listen to an assigned podcast as they walk, drive, or ride the bus home from school. It’s a little more difficult to do that with a video.

Weaknesses of audio are that there are no pictures accompanying it, so students can’t see a visual example of what is being discussed. It might be easier to form a misconception of a topic if you can’t see it being discussed. Students may also get distracted doing something else and stop engaging with an audio resource because there isn’t an accompanying visual to grab their attention.

One thought on “thing 20 – online video + audio resources

  1. Colleen, fantastic job on your video. Depending on the learner, some prefer just the audio version. I personally don’t learn that way, but I know a lot of people who do. They even download articles to listen to when exercising. I would totally miss the point if I did that! It is difficult to keep videos up to date. Students are so easily distracted by clothing and technology. I think even as adults we do too. We want the most up to date information.

Leave a Reply

